Sloppy Seconds

  • Sloppy Seconds
  • The First Seven Inches EP (Alternative Tentacles) 1987 
  • Destroyed (Toxic Shock) 1989 
  • The First Seven Inches...and Then Some! (Taang!) 1992 + 1999 + 2018 
  • Knock Yer Block Off (Taang!) 1993 
  • Live: No Time for Tuning (self-released) 1995 
  • More Trouble Than They're Worth (Nitro) 1998 
  • Garbage Days Regurgitated E.P. (Nitro) 2000 
  • NecroComicon 2005 (self-released) 2004 
  • Endless Bummer (Kid Tested) 2008 

Playing unassailable melody punk (New York Dolls meet the Ramones, circa 1977), this tight and talented Indianapolis junk-culture quartet has the intelligence to sing “I Don’t Wanna Be a Homosexual” (the first track on Destroyed, and not one of those recycled from the four-song EP) without a trace of homophobia and the psychotronic skill to build a catchy surfpunk song out of 1964’s Horror of Party Beach. When Sloppy Seconds visit the video store — to borrow dialogue from John Waters’ Female Trouble or rue the removal of Traci Lords from the porno shelves — these gulcher hounds really get on to something. However, too many of the songs on Destroyed, despite their sturdy musical merits, are just simple Ramones derivatives (“Janie Is a Nazi,” “Time Bomb,” “I Want ‘Em Dead”) and don’t offer the same degree of fun.

[Ira Robbins]