The Jam & Cadillac
March 05, 2007 07:07PM
I just saw a Cadillac commercial with "Start" by The Jam playing in the background. Along with John Mellencamp doing car commercials, after refusing to allow his music to be used in that manner for years, hearing The Jam plugging a car was a shock. I guess "artistic integrity" has been dumbed down to a meaningless phrase. If Paul McCartney ever gets the rights to The Beatles' songs back from Michael Jackson, will he sell "Revolution" to Nike?
Re: The Jam & Cadillac
March 05, 2007 08:14PM
I'm of mixed feelings on this - I used to get mad at artists who would allow their music to be used to sell products, but I don't so much anymore. They have a right to earn a living off their work, and if radio won't play their music but a commercial is willing to broadcast it into millions of homes and actually pay them for the right to do it, then who am I to tell them to live up to my standard of artisitic integrity? Of course, my day job is as a graphic designer, so I have no artistic integrity at all - all my work is geared towards selling crap. Why should I hold Paul Weller to a higher standard than I hold myself?

So if Moby or Goldfrapp or any number of people are becoming big stars by licensing their music, go for it. I remember seeing the movie ATHENS GEORGIA INSIDE OUT and being pissed that what's-her-name the singer for Pylon had given up on music and was working at a Kinkos type place, But she could pay her bills working there, something she was never able to do as a member of Pylon.

So if a commercial pays enough of Jason Pierce's bills that he can keep making Spiritualized albums instead of going to work at McDonalds, I say more power to them.